I Need Comments On This Blogging Question

I’m not sure, any longer, exactly what it means to blog my work.  My poetry.  My stories.  Does blogging my work really mean – as some have told me – that my work, once blogged, is considered published?  Suppose I change something before I send it off – as I usually do?  This is silly.  Who started this rumor and does anyone know if it’s true?  It’s not as though I believe I’d be the next famous poet or anything like that but…does blogging mean the same thing as publishing?

Ellespeth

21 thoughts on “I Need Comments On This Blogging Question

  1. Thanks for asking this – I think it’s an important question, but the answer is on a case by case basis really as all publishers/magazines seem to have their own rules. I have also asked myself if I share too much creative content on my blog, but at the same time I learn so much from sharing it and the feedback and, being in the early days of my writing journey, that’s valuable too. I do save some of my best poems to rework/spend some extra time on and eventually send off…but I also know my own creative ability and I have the feeling there is much more where that came from, so I don’t want to be ‘mean’ with what I share either. There is some great content out there on wordpress and I want to contribute to that generously, and mindfully. Hmmm…more to be said, but this is already a long comment! Thanks for asking this important questions, I enjoyed reading the other responses.

    Like

  2. What I would suggest is, go to any of the websites of the companies you may wish to publish with. There are rules and regulations in just about every one of them, under the heading ‘Submissions.’ Sometimes you have to look up ‘Contact Information’ to get to the submission info. Many publications will state that they don’t want to see anything that has been published ANYWHERE, including on a blog. Check it out. Some allow it, some don’t… but I would say most don’t.

    Like

  3. In my opinion, unless your blog and its contents vanish for some reason from circulation, you have proof of your ‘published’ works. I think that is the reason WordPress uses the word ‘publish’ instead of ‘post’ when you send content to your site. In a way, WordPress backs us up once our creative output is out in the Net. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes. And that’s the issue I’m trying to address. There are some publishers who will not accept previously published work. For instance, there are some poetry quarterly publications and magazines that ask if the work has been previously published. Some say, flat out, they do not accept previously published work. Oh well…I apreciate having some protections here, on WordPress but I wonder if I put out too much creative content here.
      Thank you. Belsbror…
      Ellespeth

      Like

      • You have the self-publishing option. Publications do not print published articles or works because of copyright laws. You know how it is difficult once lawyers enter the picture. They have their own language. 🙂

        Like

  4. I think yes it’s published electronically, but the whole idea of blogging is showing the naked words and ideas evolving through posts and musings, and they can be changed, and meant to be.

    Like

    • Yes. One would hope so. Most of my poety here has been in process for months – if not years – and I’m still not ready to send it off for publication. All is so in flux here… thank you for your response.
      Ellespeth

      Like

      • I can relate, it’s hard to put your art out there but I think the benefit of the exposure online to get people interested is so valuable. Perhaps you could just put a few online as a teaser for your book

        Like

      • Yes. I’m beginning to see the logic in your advice. Not so much my poetry – since it’s not recognizable a week or so after it’s first written 😛 – but my lil fairytale I’ve been posting is beginnint to worry me. Thank you again! I t hink I’m on your blog now but in another tab. LOL! This blogging stuff.
        Ellespeth

        Like

  5. let’s put it this way, if you are talking about E-publishing – the answer is yes. If you find a publisher who publishes your work – they will most likely ask you to remove it from your blog, at least for some
    period of time. I’ve heard some people say that if already E-published that certain publishers will not touch that work, but this was in Europe. Look at it this way, if you blog anything – technically anyone in the world can actually read it. I would think that is the same as being ‘published’ but it’s a matter of how you define the word ‘publish’. Lastly, i am no expert on the subject or the legal details that so often surround published works.

    Like

  6. I’ve heard of that, but I think it’s the equivalent of a ‘poor man copyright’. That’s when you mail your manuscript back to you and keep the package sealed to prove date of ownership. By posting your work, you have that time stamp and proof of owner. That might be what people really mean.

    Like

    • Ah yes. That is what some musician friends of mine do with their music. Perhaps that is what is meant. Thank you, Charles. I was worried because sometimes one is asked if a poem or story has been previously published and I’ve never blooged beofre.
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

