Book Review – A Girl Named Cord

Oh! I have just had the total honor to read a pre-release of the novel A Girl Named Cord by Briana C. Vedsted. Before I was introduced to Briana’s books, it had been a long time since I’d read anything written for young adults.

I would like to begin my review by saying that I am not a fan of Westerns…I am merely a poet and the daughter of a man who adored – somewhat secretly – Western novels. One can never be sure what creates attraction. The important thing is that I was immediately attracted and fully led into the story woven by Ms. Vedsted.

I left this novel with very clear images of its characters. Jake and Ghost, the seemingly shadow cousins; Cord, the young woman coming of age during a difficult time in her own life and, I believe, historically.

Under the umbrella of adventure and romance and revelation, the reader is guided through Cord’s struggle between appearances and reality. We walk with Cord down her many paths of loving. We mourn her losses and rejoice in her happiness. Also, we nod at her unfolding awareness.

In A Girl Named Cord, followers of Ms. Vedsted are given the chance to experience the unfolding of a young writer about to burst forth. If you are not already familiar with her work, I suggest you visit her blog: http://whenibecameanauthor.wordpress.com/.  There you will find links to her publications as well as a blog of her journey as a writer.

**novel to be released at month’s end**

Ellespeth

3 thoughts on “Book Review – A Girl Named Cord

Leave a Reply

