Sometimes She Smiles Back At Me (A Poem – Today’s Stranger Prompt)

A poem for today’s stranger prompt at
http://neverendingstorydepository.wordpress.com/
go take a peek at all the offering….you won’t be sorry.
Ellespeth

The Community Storyboard

Sometimes She Smiles Back At Me
In my mind,
I sensed her leaving me.
I didn’t reach for her
or know her
or even want to know her
very well.
I simply let her go
back into her shadowed past
and her secret
wild imaginings.
Holding on
would have driven me crazy.
She’s so much stronger
with that damned
wishful way of her’s
and her soft voice
peeling back the pain
into joy.
How could I hold on
and keep either of us sane?
In my mind
I watched her leave.
I didn’t reach for her
but she smiled back at me
as still, sometimes, she does.

Ellespeth

View original post

Leave a Reply

