It Feels So Good To Be Home

So we’re going to take off, in a couple of weeks, to that little cabin we love so much.  Just at the foothills of the Sierra Nevada.  If my life were different and I actually could control my own destiny without taking others into consideration…well…I’d be living in that old gold mining town today.  Right now, that’s not possible.  So we visit there as often as possible and stay in this old miner’s cabin in a little cabin/motel-ish setting.  I’d like to spend a month there – once. Maybe get it out of my system.  It’s a very small town and it snows there.  I can’t imagine liking either one but I can imagine living there.

I’d like to get New Orleans out of my system, too.  I’d like to spend the entire month of August back in New Orleans with the bugs and the mosquitoes and rain and humidity and stiffing heat.  Hahaha!  How quickly one forgets those minor details 😛

Cuz then, ya know, it’s always so damned nice to get home again.  Home with our birds and our eclectic (aka Goodwill/Salvation Army) decor.  Two large matching knotty pine book shelves and 5 mismatched ones.  Sometimes, on a damp winter’s day, one catches a whiff of old books.

So we’re going to take off, in a couple of weeks, to that little cabin we love so much.  Just at the foothills of the Sierra Nevada.  I’ll put all of my poetry on a memory key and pack our tiny laptop.  While you drive us to hiking destinations, I’ll read aloud my poetry.  The way we do it is this way:  I read a poem.  When I’ve finished, I ask you what you think of the title.  Most of the time, your answer to that question gives me some indication that you did or did not get my point.  I keep a list.  I bold the ones you didn’t get.  Sometimes I change some.

So we’re going to take off, in a couple of weeks, to that little cabin we love so much.  Just at the foothills of the Sierra Nevada.  It already feel so good to be home again.

I’ll go ahead and post this under random thoughts.  It’s not random, though.  It just seems random… to some parts of me

Ellespeth

5 thoughts on “It Feels So Good To Be Home

  1. Oh, Ellespeth, where are you going? An ex-boyfriend and I used to go to Mount Shasta where there was a family cabin we could stay at. I always loved those trips, although the cabin was fairly primitive (I usually had to haul water in from a rivulet nearby). At the time I lived in Berkeley so it was nice to get away from the crush of humanity 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Marie 🙂 Oh that sounds wonderful, too. We haven’t gone as far north, yet, as Mount Shasta. David is just telling me that would make a nice spring trip…to see the wildflowers! We go to Grass Valley. It’s north of Sacramento. The cabin is actually nice – even a large kitchen for cooking meals and a hilly walk into town. Beautiful hiking – as you can imagine. David’s niece lives in Berkeley with her brood of three children. I like to drive up to Berkeley – I guess that would be considered ‘up’ – and go to that outdoor market near the train station. I usually leave there smelling like a perfume oil factory 😛
      Ellespeth

      Like

      • Oh, the Ashby Flea Market? That’s what it was when I lived there. It was actually a neat part of Berkeley to live in, although we did witness two women get robbed one morning as we were leaving for work. Sigh, and that was in the early 80s. I digress 😉 The cabin you go to sounds lovely. I hope someday you can go and spend a month (or more) there 🙂

        Like

  2. Really enjoyed these ‘random’ thoughts, and how wonderful that you have someone to share your poetry with and get instant feedback:-) Made me smile, how easy it is to forget the reason you have your home where you do…but going away is always a good reminder – and if not, then maybe it IS time to move. Just thoughts… Have a great time in the cabin! Blessings, H xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

