I Like You but I Don’t Love You

random internet photo

At the grocery, today, I found myself a witness to the following father/daughter exchange:

Daughter (perhaps about 4 yrs old)  I like you daddy.
Father – and I like you now what sort of tooth-brush did your mom want you to have?
Daughter – I like you daddy but I don’t know if I love you.  I just knows I like you.

Father looks at me and smiles meekly.

Me – sounds worse than having the wife at the grocery with you.
Father – yes, it is.

And he cracks up laughing.  We continue shopping.  Next time I see them they are sitting on the floor of the toothbrush aisle discussing going to the dentist.  The father and I exchange a glance.  We stifle a laugh and continue shopping.

Cuteness all over the place.

Ellespeth

5 thoughts on “I Like You but I Don’t Love You

Leave a Reply

