Welcome to Silicon Valley…

We bring the internet to the world but we can’t bring it to Silicon Valley.

Let’s not name our internet /phone service.  Let’s just say they used to be part of a monopoly and still consider themselves some sort of god.  Our wireless connection, to the study,  hasn’t been working since sometime in November.  I mean if you call disconnecting every 5 minutes working well…yahoo!  Additionally, our computers slowed down to a crawl sometime in November.
Since we don’t have this company’s name brand router – but another that was working perfectly until November – our phone/internet carrier wouldn’t help us.  They did say, repeatedly, that we had a mighty fine connection 😛

Yesterday morning the phones and internet, for those using this particular nameless carrier, went down in our entire condo association.  Eeep!  It’s actually gone down for several thousand people using this particular carrier.  It appears about 125 feet of cable broke and fell to the ground and – I kid you not – they are blaming it on squirrels!  Hahaha!  I knew – from certain WordPress blogs – that squirrels were awful but I didn’t know they liked to gnaw through copper cable.

God knows when our telephone and internet service will be restored.  It sounds like a major project.  I’m particularly grateful that I was born many, many years pre-Kindle and that I have several paper books I haven’t even read yet.  I’m also glad you have a cell phone in your hiking sack and that it was charged enough for us to get information from the phone company.

All and all it hasn’t been horrible to be without reliable internet access for almost two months.  It was the holiday season with all its craziness.  Plus, I bought a Nora Roberts formula novel at the grocery just about when all this started.  I’ve ended up reading four Nora Roberts formula novels.  I’m into the fifth one now.   Another trilogy.  I don’t know if I’ll finish it.  I may finish it to see what happens to the mother!   Nora Roberts is not very deep.  Everybody falls in love and lives happily ever after.  Adult fairy tales about the  princess and her prince.  There’s also a queen in each one.  Sometimes she’s wonderful and sometimes she’s mean.  She’s different in each novel/trilogy.  Nora Roberts has done well in a difficult genre – formula writing.  I guess it’s sort of an extension of True Confession Magazine stories.  The formula part I mean.  Always the same.

I tried to write a True Confession Magazine type story.  In fact, I’ve tried several times.  Absolutely not easy.  I might try again.  Nora Roberts seems to be – from reviews of her work – an expert in the genre.  I’ll study her a bit more and then try again.  (Her sex scenes are not realistic but I suppose they offer some sort of fantasy for younger/less life experienced readers.  Escapism at its best.  Roberts does manage to sneak in educational bits about condoms and birth control realistically.  I’ll give that a plus.)

So…I  may walk over to Starbucks tomorrow and post this to my blog.  I dunno.  I just wanted everyone to know what’s going on.

PS  … Yay! We’re connected!  Everything is working so much better.  I guess the cables had been going bad for quite some time 😦  I’ll be back later.

Ellespeth 

3 thoughts on “Welcome to Silicon Valley…

  1. Perfect first line: “We bring the internet to the world but we can’t bring it to Silicon Valley.” Even though I was laughing at your expense, you made me laugh. Oh, the joys of free market capitalism … no, wait, we’re not supposed to have monopolies in a free market, are we?? And if somehow there is a loophole in the free market to allow monopolies, that’s just so the monopoly can pass their good fortune onto the consumer, right? Whoops! Somebody just knocked me off my soapbox 😉 I am truly glad that your service is back up and running, but I’m even gladder [sic] that you had a different provider for your cell phone and that you had paper books around. Sometimes it’s nice to be off the grid for awhile, although preferably by choice 😉

    Like

    • Before I retired, I was very connected to the internet. Not wanting to miss an email or phone call. It’s nice to discover the world carries on without my attention! Probably better, too.
      Welcome home, btw. How awful to leave Florida for snow 😦
      Laterz,
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

