Sale on White Laced Handkerchiefs – A Poem

Sooo…usually on Monday – sometimes Friday…or another day – we sit on the balcony late afternoon.  We drink champagne and read to one another from the diaries and works of Anaïs Nin.  This afternoon….this came to me…

Sale on White Laced Handkerchiefs
I want to say some
things
before they may no longer matter.
I’ve loved
at best
my better half and
my better half
loved me.
So…I shall surely pay
at least a dime
for each of your kisses.
Bring on the white laced handkerchiefs.
Dab
dab.
Thank you
please
don’t stop.
Dab
dab.
There we go again.
Dab
dab
please don’t stop.

Ellespeth

Leave a Reply

