When Sonnets Were Free – A Sonnet re: just previous entry

When Sonnets Were Free
And now to bed I go beneath the stars
against all odds and hoping for the best
I throw my hopes  –  all caution to the sea
breezes that once skipped within my heart.
Then should you think I ask too much of love
remember all that’s taken in the night
for there will all your safety measures weigh
against the sudden dangers of the tide
that comes to wash away the memory
of something sacred stolen long ago.
Look not for words of comfort from me now
or anything that may of comfort speak
for I once gave you treasures locked within
a heart you didn’t know and never will.

Ellespeth

Hmmm…I may come back to this again.  On the other hand, I may never look at it again.  The challenge – which is why I’d consider coming back to this piece – would be to have it sound less regimented but still keep the proper flow.  I can see that that’s possible…this may not be the sonnet to spend time working.    I’m not sure.   I don’t want to restrict myself.  I don’t know how much further I want to stretch.  Some other day will tell me what to do – or not to do.

One thought on “When Sonnets Were Free – A Sonnet re: just previous entry

  1. Pingback: When Sonnets Were Free – A Sonnet Poem | Views From A Poet

Leave a Reply

