Dreams We Don’t Remember Having – A Poem In Three Acts

Dreams We Don’t Remember Having

Prologue
Is there
a starting point
lost track of
in passing clouds and trailing stars?

Act I
Awakening one day
floating in the foreground
against an unfamiliar
background of fleeting sense

Act II
I saw a comet
wishing
on me not wanting
to leave too soon
or wait too long
to know my name.

Act III
When all the bloom
had faded
when winter had melted
when spring refused
its reign

Epilogue
there wasn’t any royalty.
I was the authority.

Ellespeth

One thought on “Dreams We Don’t Remember Having – A Poem In Three Acts

  1. I love when little snippets of dreams return much later as recognizable repeats and wonder why I didn’t recall them until viewed again. Like hidden messages and meanings that bear repeating until messgae is considered to have been received. Dreams are marvellous. I don’t write them down as often as I should although sometimes, moreso recently, I wake from a dream with a poem almost fully formed from its content.
    They’re so mysterious at times and capture another world. You have captured that quality here. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

