Charms & Demitasse Spoons – A Poem

This afternoon, we were all a flutter cleaning out boxes.  You found a good luck charm I’d been given.  And I remembered other charms.Charms & Demitasse Spoons

Sometimes we choose
to remember
or to remember not.

She watched her childhood
charms and
demitasse spoons
float away.

It’s ok.
I’ll create new charms
and wear them
within.
I’ll use unmatched spoons
with only a single
Key West demitasse.

We ate mile high
key lime pie
there
not knowing
that beautiful sunset
was us.

I want to remember
that day my heart was broken.

Ellespeth

Leave a Reply

