Red Paper Lanterns

I wrote this for this week’s   Friday Fictioneers led by Rochelle     100 words  (or so)  based on the photo prompt below.  Come join us!

Red Paper Lanterns

A cool breeze was coming through the open restaurant window.  Red paper lanterns swayed from the ceiling.

It’s happiness enough to know one is superior to the fork people  was written on your chopstick wrapper.

“I wonder what that means?”  I asked.

“What?”

“That.”   I pointed to the fortune.

You shrugged and tore off the wrapper.    “Look at yours.  Who comes up with these things?”

Ask for what you need.  I shook my head slowly and smiled.

“I’m an easy touch for needs tonight. Try one.”

“I’ll take a rain check.”

“Great answer!  That’ll make the fork people happy.”

Ellespeth

 


photo copyright – Marie Gail Stratford

22 thoughts on “Red Paper Lanterns

    • Thanks, Susan! I’m glad you enjoyed you enjoyed it. I’m beginning to see how helpful these Friday pieces are to the creative process…
      Thanks for reading this piece and for your comments on my work.
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • Hi Alicia ~
      Whew! This is no easy task – as you well know! I told my husband, ‘oh gawd! I have to cut 49 words. I might as well just cut the whole story!”
      I glad it worked for you and that it felt relaxed. Thanks for reading this piece and commenting on my work.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  1. Love the image of red paper lanterns swaying from the ceiling. The evening seems lazy, relaxed and enjoyable. I really enjoyed this piece! Sarah

    Like

    • Hi Sarah ~
      Thanks for passing by and for your comment. I’m glad to know the red paper lanterns work in this piece. That image didn’t come to my mind until the very last edit. Getting a piece down to 100 words is difficult!
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • Hi Janet ~
      Thanks! It helps to read that readers entered the story space. I was striving for a split second moment in life…I appreciate you reading and commenting on my work.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  2. The fun of fortune cookies. Ever get one that doesn’t have a fortune? Such a strange experience because it’s so minor, but you feel kind of sad. Like Confucius couldn’t be bothered with you.

    (When did the new comment font show up here?)

    Like

  3. If I saw “ask for what you need” written on my chopstick wrapper I’d definitely ask for a fork!
    I like the way you set the scene, it all sounds quite relaxing.

    Like

    • Thanks, doc! If only we’d have about 10 more words…by the time I edited this from 149 words to 100, I didn’t know how to get her to ask for a fork 😛 I think she would have! I’, glad you enjoyed this piece.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  4. Dear Ellespeth,

    I love the tone and timbre of this piece. The mood you set with the lanterns and even the format is perfect for introspection and unanswered questions. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

    • Hi Doug ~
      Thank you! I’m happy to read that you thought this piece flows smoothly. Sometimes, it’s difficult for me to see that – in my own work – and that creates such a struggle at editing time.

      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

