5 thoughts on “Old Boxes – A Poem

  1. Some poems I need to read 2 or 3 times to understand what is behind the words, but yours are so clear, I love them. This one is great, we can be broken in the outside, but our insides (ideas, values) should not be broken. Did I get it right?

    Like

    • Hi Elizabeth 🙂
      It’s been interesting to me and I’ve been curious – probably since junior high over 50 years ago – how important is it to know what the poet meant…I remember rarely getting the meaning that the teacher thought was the meaning. So your comment may lead me to create a post about that topic. It’s difficult, for me, to say what I mean. Hahaha! That’s probably why writing poetry is so appealing to me.

      We can be broken or a real box can be broken…I guess…crushed in some way.

      If one is strong perhaps it’s possible to guard the ideas and values of importance over time – or find them again inside a box being unpacked one day.

      I appreciate your comment and your personal insights into my work. I enjoy hearing them.

      Ellespeth

      Like

      • I always try to understand the meaning of it to me, but the same poem can have one meaning one day and another complete different few months ahead. I think it depends on our state of mind when we read it. It’s very personal, someone can never impose the meaning to another person.Looking forward to your post about it.

        Like

    • Hi James ~ Thanks for reading and commenting on this piece. I’m happy the lay out worked for you. I was pleased, too, with the way it fits – sometimes the repeat works and sometimes it’s overbearing.
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

