Moments We Don’t Forget

On 9/11 you and I had only been married 3 months.  It was my first day working, as a secretary, at a nearby  Law School.  I was driving to work.  I was nervous.  I turned on the radio.  Some strange repeating nightmare kept coming from my car’s speaker system.  Our country had been attacked.  Not ‘over there’ but here.  Lives were violently lost.  Life, for so many of us in the entire world, forever changed.

Bless the dead.
Bless the living.
Bless our homes.
Bless our cities.
Bless our country.
Bless our world.
Show us the way to peace.
Amen.
Amen we say.
Amen.

Ellespeth

Leave a Reply

