Gone Fly Fishing

Another installment of Friday Fictioneers  hosted by Rochelle.  100 words or so based on the image below.Gone Fly Fishing

Everything in our small world was so perfect that day.  Hills, dotted with wild dogwoods and magnolias, sloped along the creek.  Spanish moss hung low from the oak trees.

I was with my little  boy.   We parked the car at the side of the road and gathered our fishing poles and the fly lures we’d made.

“Why is that bunny dead on the side of the road, daddy?”  My son pointed to the ground.

I looked down to behold something I couldn’t define.  “I suppose he didn’t look both ways.”

We continued on our way without a funeral.

Ellespeth

photo Copyright-Kent Bonham

19 thoughts on “Gone Fly Fishing

  1. The moment was captured really well. The last line really brings it home. Just a thought-maybe strike the third to last line? That will bring everything together even more tightly.

    Like

  2. Poor bunny. Too bad there wasn’t a chicken around to show him how it’s done. I’m sure there’s a procession of carrions on their way now to properly dispose of the body. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, I recall the sleeping answer, too. We had lots of dead wild life, on the side of the road (and in the road), in Louisiana. I’m trying harder to be more descriptive in these short pieces so I’m glad you liked it!
      Hope all is well…
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • Hi Rochelle ~
      Thanks for reading and commenting on this piece. When I first saw the photo I wasn’t sure I could come up with anything. Then I remembered something my husband told me about hiking – years ago – with his son. They’re two cool headed men so I imagined this scene from there.
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • Thanks, Claire! This was actually a response my husband used, years ago, when his young son saw a dead animal on the side of the road. I was glad to be able to use his sense of humor in this short piece.
      Ellespeth
      Ellespeth

      Like

  3. Oh dear, poor squashed bunny 😦
    I hope it doesn’t spoil what promises to be a nice little fishing trip, and maybe the son will remember the bunny when he next crosses the road.

    Like

    • I hated to use the bunny part but I couldn’t resist. We babysit a little boy who calls his stuffed bunny ‘honey’. My husband once used that response when his song was quite young…I’m sure it did remind his son – at that moment – of the importance to look both ways 🙂
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

