With Angels Sleep Sweet – Fiction

Another installment of  Friday Fictioneers  hosted by Rochelle.  100 words or so based on the image below.

leverage-room-1

With Angels Sleep Sweet

Noreen’s breathing was slow and deep.  The world slipped away into bits and pieces.

Sun rays,  filtered through lace curtains,  cast a soft pink light into the room until  evening moonbeams glowed golden over the bassinette.

“Is that what you’re remembering now?”

“Yes.  And her sister playing the piano downstairs.  Thinking we’d brought her home.”

Brahm’s Lullaby haunted the room..  Noreen hummed.  Words were long forgotten.

“Was that the song her sister was playing?”

“Yes.  She’d practiced such a long time so she could play it for the baby’s first night home.”

It’s impossible to describe the sound of air shattering.

Ellespeth

photo prompt:  © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

25 thoughts on “With Angels Sleep Sweet – Fiction

    • Thanks for reading this piece, doc. I’m always so happy to see an FF comment from you! Yes, a sad take on it all. Most of us have lost something, though, and been set adrift by it.
      I wonder…what healing steps she will take? I’m certain she will heal…
      Ellespeth

      Like

  1. Dear Ellespeth, The “sound of air shattering” – what a lovely way to put it. I know when my granddaughter died the day after she and her brother were born – I went around in kind of a haze, as did the rest of our family. Very well written! Nan 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Nan ~ I’m sorry to learn of your granddaughter. When I wrote this, I was remembering a sister-in-law and those several years after she lost her third baby. She seemed so emotionally fragile…as though she would break over her loss. She didn’t…somehow we find a way to survive.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  2. So very good! I don’t think I’ve read your FF responses in the past, but that is going to change. Beautiful writing this week. I especially love the final line.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Like

Leave a Reply

