The Middle Years – Fiction

Another installment of  Friday Fictioneers  hosted by Rochelle.  100 words or so based on the image below.  Come join us!

still-life-with-doug.1

The Middle Years

Once she’d found the final perfectly smoothed stone, and had placed it onto the narrow cypress board,  Irene stepped back a bit. She liked the way the stones blended with, yet protected, the  delicate shells.

“It’s an omen,” she told Hugh as she leaned the collection against a rustic figure she’d constructed earlier.

“Good or bad?” Hugh asked.

“I don’t know. Makes a good color scheme for the bathroom remodel though. Don’t you think?”

“Soaking tub?”

Irene smiled. “Of course!”

The next morning, Hugh and Irene went blueberry picking. At mid-day they lay down, near the stream, to dream again.

Ellespeth

photo prompt © Douglas M. MacIlroy

20 thoughts on “The Middle Years – Fiction

  1. Ellespeth, Pleasant story with a contented, happy ending. It looks like they’ve been working on that remodeling for quite a while, bit by bit. Their home should be warm and inviting when they’re finished. 🙂 — Susan

    Like

    • Its good to see you again, Susan! I’d like the best for them, too.
      I tried to get a beginning middle and ending this time. I’d never thought to do that before – in 100 words. So, I’ll keep working in that direction.
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • I haven’t a clue where that ending came from! I just read it again…reminds me of those fade out love scenes in old movies.
      This was an interesting photograph, Doug – so many layers and textures.
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • Thanks, Dawn…That entire last paragraph almost didn’t make it into the piece at all because I didn’t finish this until the wee hours of this morning. By then, my editor…I mean husband…had gone to bed. I went back and forth with lay or laid. Lay or laid? OMG is it lay or laid? I pushed publish with it as ‘lay’. I paced the floors. I came back and changed it to ‘laid’ and went to bed. Ends up…it’s LAY 😛 Where was I when we learned irregular verbs? Why did I just remember that term when my husband was explaining the concept of ‘getting laid’. Men, eh? I think, later this evening, I will write a poem about verbs and how much I hate them.
      BTW…it’s lay now. I thought that sounded more romantic – initially – anyway 😛
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • Thanks, doc. When I first saw this photo, it brought to mind a mandala of stones and shells. The outside and then inside of a person or relationship.

      I’ve been ‘away’ a couple of weeks researching fairies and wings…
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

