Rumors On The River Ure

Another installment of   Friday Fictioneers  hosted by Rochelle.  100 words or so based on the image below.  Click on the lil frog icon (after this piece) and come join us!

claire-fuller-7 (1)Rumors On The River Ure

Nobody knew, for sure, where Miss Annie came from or when she first moved to the village. She looked a wild woman, though, with long brown hair and piercing green eyes. Some days, near twilight, people would see her walking and hear her singing lullabies ’round the Middleham Castle ruins.

For all intents and purposes, Miss Annie ran a respectable tea house. It was set back about a mile off the main road just across from Uncle’s auto repair shop. He took a liking for Miss Annie’s ways. Eventually she gave up the tea house, for Uncle’s sake, and they married.

Ellespeth

A brief back drop: I really liked this photograph. There are so many options and layers.   Thanks for this, Claire. What fascinated me most was the telephone number. I googled that and ended up in England on the River Ure reading about kings and queens and castles and a young prince dying. Oh!  I stopped at the romance part…

other writer’s stories can be found here:   http://new.inlinkz.com/luwpview.php?id=461236

Photo © Claire Fuller

20 thoughts on “Rumors On The River Ure

  1. Dear Ellespeth,

    I called the number and got the young prince on the line. He’s not dead yet and wants your number.

    A great story with a perfect soft tone. I loved the way it flowed smoothly off of my tongue as I read it aloud. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

    • Hi Doug ~
      Ohhh! I’m not one to get involved with royalty. At least not in this lifetime. I’m chuckling.
      I’m glad to know that you read this piece aloud and that it sounded good to your ear. It did to mine, too. Your comments are so encouraging…
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • Hi Rochelle ~
      It was all so interesting…I would really like to do something more with these 100 words because the ‘rabbit trail’ was so interesting. I’m happy you enjoyed it!
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • I don’t think she served much tea 😛 I’m happy they discovered each other’s charms…
      Isn’t it amazing what a Google can bring? Whew. I lost an entire afternoon to this one.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  2. Dear Ellespeth,
    I always love to learn how others come up with their stories from the prompts. Checking the telephone number took you down a very different path this week from what one might expect with a cursory glance at the prompt.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Like

    • It did take me on a reading binge. I’ve moved that part to the end and may remove it completely 😛 The backdrop part. I’ll sleep on it. Thanks for reading and commenting, Marie.
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

