She’s Still Something To Me

I’m still reading Nancy Milford’s biography of Edna St Vincent Millay – Savage Beauty.  I didn’t know that she was addicted to various drugs of her day.  I keep re-reading that part.  I skipped to that part.  I want to see how all the parts of her life, before her addiction, play into it.  Can only read this a small bit at a time.

When my parents would argue, my mother would lie on her bed reading, from the Collected Works of Edna St. Vincent Millay, and sobbing.  So she’s in my blood somehow.  I also own her collected works.

I suppose life just can get to be too much.  I know it can.  I see it happening all around me and all around my country and the world.

Ah well, anyways, she’s still something to me.

Ellespeth

One thought on “She’s Still Something To Me

Leave a Reply

