Low Tide – Fiction

Another installment of   Friday Fictioneers  hosted by Rochelle.  100 words or so based on the image below.  Click on the link (after this piece) and come join us!img_0818Low Tide

About ten years ago Nate and I bought an acre of land on Bayou Arecenaux, southwest of the city and one half mile from the Gulf. We are part of a larger group of people moving back to the Bayou. The clean-up’s  been difficult.

Most of us live on houseboats. A few have built houses raised up on stilts. Colleen has a general store in a corner of her kitchen. She also trades produce from our gardens. Kevin’s built a smokehouse.  None of us are into free love, and we can’t stand trash.

Nate keeps putting up a “No Dumping” sign.

Ellespeth

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Sandra Crook

30 thoughts on “Low Tide – Fiction

    • Hi Susan ~
      Just after I read your comment, last evening, I was thinking ‘yes, at least they can control their little space on this earth’…
      Then I woke this morning to the newspaper and the hostage situation in Australia…and the reality of actually not having control.
      Hope flitters about in and out at times.
      Thanks for reading and commenting.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  1. They’re trying hard to live a clean and simple life. Noble ambitions. I think, however, the reality and ugliness of the modern world can’t be so easily avoided. I feel for them. This is a touching story. I like it very much.

    Like

    • Oh! I looked Beasts of the Southern Wild up on the Wilipedia…such an amazing story. I had that area of Louisiana in mind but…I wonder if I have it in me to expand beyond 100 words or a poem?
      Thanks for passing by and for your encouraging comment.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  2. I loved this little memoir.

    Damn, Nate’s sign works about as well as those signs on the beach. More drastic measures are called for, but I don’t know what those would be. Causes one to think….

    Like

  3. Dear Ellespeth,

    Nate needs to sit out there with a gun. Your story talks of leaving the city behind and has a bucolic tone until the city gets dumped in their backyards. Well done.

    (On the ‘something to think about’ front, ‘Raised up’ is redundant. The extra word is precious. Thought I’d mention it for that part of you in pursuit of the craft.)

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

    • Hi Doug ~
      Unfortunately, cities and oil companies and folks out fishing have been dumping in the bayous for quite some time now. Fortunately, people return after a disaster.
      I see that extra word now. Thanks for the help. I’ll work with that sentence to see if I can work out a new rhythm.
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

