The Censored Self – A Poem

This is a poem I posted – year or so ago – about self censorship.  Today seems to be an appropriate time to put this back up again because we can’t let it happen.The Censored Self
Sometimes
when I say what I mean
or write what I mean
or even
think what I mean
I take it back
to not cause the offense
I didn’t mean.
That won’t work anymore.
I don’t mind
being.
I don’t mind
being
my own worst critic
but I’ll be damned
if I’ll be
my own worst censor.

Ellespeth

Leave a Reply

