One Afternoon Downtown – Fiction in 100 Words

One Afternoon Downtown

“Have you quit your day job yet?” he asked.

“No. Not yet.” I felt my heart sinking.

I was in the editor’s office. Mr. Editor was handing me my manuscript. “We’re going to publish this,” he told me. “And then, if you’re interested, we’d offer you a two-year fellowship at Writer’s Lodge.”

It took another hour to say ok and thank you and catch the trolley home.

“And then what?” my mother asked. She had almost fallen off her chair listening to my story.

“I said I’d have to ask my mother.”

“You said what?”

We hugged and laughed.

Ellespeth

4 thoughts on “One Afternoon Downtown – Fiction in 100 Words

Leave a Reply

