Ripped Upon My Heart – A Poem

I started out my blog to write stories from my poetry and try to  match them up.  That was two years ago.  I’ve done a few of them.  I just finished this set this afternoon. I wrote and posted a poem about a year ago.  Over the last week or so, I’ve written  a 100 word story to go with this poem. The story is here:  Sharp Hearted Love.  The poem is below.

Ripped  Upon My Heart

What hurts
is that we spent all night crying
on the sofa aching
and the dog puked
and there went
thirty years
of two lives.
When I think
I hear your voice
grating up against me now,
I remember
lights I wouldn’t see
and flags flapping
ripped upon my heart.

Ellespeth

Leave a Reply

