When A Dream Came To Pass – Fiction

Another installment of   Friday Fictioneers  hosted by Rochelle.  100 words or so based on the image below.  Click on the link (after this piece) and come join us!

on-on-offWhen A Dream Came To Pass

As Isabel dozed off, the image of her little girl went with her. Tiny Selene, intubated yet blue. Isabel went to sleep whispering to her little one,  “Mommy loves you so.”

And that’s when Artemis came singing. “Hush little baby, don’t you cry.”

“Is that you?” Isabel asked.

“Yes,” came the soft reply.

“That’s one of my favorite lullabies.” Isabel hummed along. “My sweet Selene isn’t going to make it, is she?”

“She’s with me now,” Artemis whispered.

“Is she happy?”

“She is.” Artemis ran her fingers though Isabel’s hair.

“Does she remember me?”

“She does.”

Ellespeth

photo prompt – Copyright Ted Strutz

26 thoughts on “When A Dream Came To Pass – Fiction

    • thank you so much for passing by my blog and reading my work. I have loved mythology ever since I was studying the Tarot (abut 30 years ago) and chose a mythology deck. For over a year I read everything I could about mythology. Artemis is my favorite.

      Thanks, also, for following my blog.

      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome. I enjoyed reading. 🙂 It’s great to find another lover of myths! I’ve loved mythology ever since I had a first collection of Greek myths as a child. I then studied Ancient History and Classics at university. One of my favourite assignments was focussed on the development of the myths of Apollo and Artemis. They have some fascinating stories. Nowadays I like to collect myths and legends from all around the world. It’s always great to see any of my favorite characters appearing in stories. 🙂

        Like

    • Artemis was the goddess of childbirth and young girl children. She’s visiting Isabel in a dream about her baby dying. I still have a few more words left so I may try to clarify that. You aren’t the first to think Artemis is the father.

      I wanted it to be tender and not too soppy. I’m glad you liked it and, as always, I appreciate your comment and read of my work.

      Ellespeth

      Like

    • This wasn’t the intended story – I was going to flood a valley but didn’t know how to do that. Go figure…

      Thanks for commenting on the voice I use in my stories. It’s something I’ve been working on for many years. I think writing poetry has guided me and is why I like doing these short 100 word pieces.

      Ellespeth

      Like

    • I almost didn’t post this because it brought a lump to my throat, too, when I read it aloud to my husband. I said ‘oh my gosh. I can’t post this it’s too soppy.” I read it again, a few hours later, and changed my mind.
      Thanks for your comment, Helen.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  1. Dear Ellespeth, What a poignant story and so tender. Our third son and his wife had twins 6 1/2 years ago. The daughter lived one day and the son has cerebral palsy – but he is the light of our lives. We have 14 grandchildren and Mason makes us so very happy! He is always (well almost) happy. Love your story! Nan

    Like

    • Thanks for reading this piece, Nan. It sounds like you are so fortunate to have Mason 🙂 14 grandchildren…omg! I can imagine your home when the family gathers for supper.
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • Hi David ~ Ahh – the dream part may not be clearly written. Artemis is a dream figure of the goddess Artemis and Isabel is talking to her in a dream. I’ll see if I can work on that…I think I have a few more words I can use.
      Thanks for your comment, David , and for reading my work.
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

