Even When We Know Better – Fiction

In honor of the 100th photo prompt – over at Sunday Photo Fiction – I thought I’d write 100 words about the photo prompt below:

Even When We Know Better

I guess, in the end, I realized that we don’t always learn what life teaches us.

“None of us believed those words. Right?” I looked out on the group of friends gathered in our garden. “It had been too long. It was too foggy to keep searching that night.” I watched everyone looking back at me. “We had lost her.”

I’m so angry with you. I motioned you to come up. I tugged at you but you kept swimming down. You motioned me away; shook your head upwards.

“We all know better, sometimes, and I’ll never forgive her for that.”

Ellespeth

other stories for this prompt can be found here: other stories

Photo © Al Forbes 2015

7 thoughts on “Even When We Know Better – Fiction

Leave a Reply

