Parking Lessons – Fiction

Time for another installment of   Friday Fictioneers  hosted by Rochelle.  100 words or so based on the image below. Click on the link (after this piece) and come join us!

crystalsParking Lessons

We were driving down Main Street. It was the last practice run before my daughter, Sara’s,  driving test. “You probably won’t get tested on this but it’s worth practicing one more time.” I said.

“What’s that, Dad?” Sara asked.

“Parallel parking. Pull up here, at the Exxon Building, and park in front,” I instructed.

“Okay, Dad.”

“Turn more left now, Sara.”

The car jerked suddenly.

“Left, Sara!”

And then it was too late. We’d backed into the building’s front window. The glass seemed so thin when it shattered, and the car leaked a bit of oil onto the lobby floor.

Ellespeth

photo prompt  – © Marie Gail Stratford

23 thoughts on “Parking Lessons – Fiction

  1. The part about leaking oil onto Exxon’s lobby floor was hilarious, Ellespeth. 😀 When I was learning to parallel park in Driver Training in high school, the teacher put up two sticks on springs, and we had to park between. I parked perfectly, but pulling out, I ran right over the front stick. Good thing it wasn’t someone’s car. 😀 — Suzanne

    Like

  2. Dear Ellespeth,

    I barely passed my driver’s test, partly because the clutch was going out on my VW and I didn’t know it until the car died a week later when I was out with my young son. As for parallel parking…fuhget about it. 😉

    Love your story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • The entire learning to drive experience was horrible. Then, when I moved out to California, I had to learn to drive all over again. Hills and mountains and 10 lane freeways. I try to walk to destinations as much as possible. I can’t imagine driving a truck – good lordy.
      Thanks for passing by, Bjorn.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  3. Dear Ellespeth, When I got my drivers license in 1965, I remember the guy testing me said good job on my parallel parking (the only thing I ever beat my sister at). Well, my sons didn’t have to parallel park however, they can all put a boat into a lake on a boat ramp – which I think is impressive. Cute story! Nan

    Like

    • Oh Nan! We are near the same age!
      I’ve never minded parallel parking. I just don’t like driving. Isn’t it great to beat our sisters at something?
      That boat ramp part has me shuddering.
      Thanks for reading this piece, Nan, and for your comment 🙂
      Ellespeth

      Like

  4. Ah, that dreaded parallel parking. I avoid it at all costs, Ellespeth. Even if there’s a huge space, I need a few goes of it. Those things happen to beginner drivers, don’t they? I’ll never forget when I failed my first driver’s test. I almost gave the evaluator a heart attack. I enjoyed your story. Well done!

    Like

    • True, right? The learning and the testing. Horrible experiences. I just took a renewal driver’s test last spring. I was so nervous I took a three hour driver’s ed course. The lady rode with me around our neighborhood. She had to use her brake pedal once. I never did understand why 😛 She said I was a great driver and wished me well on the test. I passed.
      Ellespeth

      Like

      • Yay, Ellespeth!! Congratulations on passing the test. I’ve never had to take a renewal test. I hope I never have to. I’m sure I would do something stupid and fail. My driving is usually fine though. No problems. Knock on wood! But driving around with someone watching my every move would be nerve wracking, Kind of like driving with my husband. Ha ha!

        Like

  5. Oh the memories this brings back–learning to drive in a small town where the opportunity to parallel park scarcely existed. I finally learned when I moved to Kansas City and a lady from out East gave me some pointers. Fortunately shattered glass never came into play in my reality.

    Good story, Ellespeth.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Like

    • I was remembering my sister learning to back out our drive way and ending up in the neighbors back yard. Oops! I’m really not sure why my parents allowed her to take the driving test so soon. She didn’t improve her skills for quite some time.

      Thanks for reading this piece and for this oddly wonderful photograph 😛
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

