Places of Honor – Fiction

Here’s a short piece I’ve written for this week’s Mondays Finish the Story Challenge.  Participants are given a first sentence and a photograph.   The “challenge is to finish the story using 100-150 words, not including the sentence provided.”  This sounds like great fun!  Following my story, there will be a link to the other stories submitted for this prompt.  I hope you will visit and even consider participating.

Here is the picture.  I’ve italicized the first sentence we’ve been given this week:

Places of Honor

The old typewriter had a mind of its own.  I had programmed it to sense my touch and my mood,  and to make a sort of sense out of my deepest secrets.  Eventually, we forged quite a remarkable relationship.  Little Miss Underwood was getting me published all over the place.  Life was  so glossy and daring.

I was heartbroken when she broke.  My husband, Sam, did his best to console me.  “We’ll drive right into town and buy you one of those computers you’ve been wanting.”

“You don’t think you could fix her?”  I asked.

“Aw honey, I’ve fixed her so many times.  She can’t be fixed again.”  Sam put his arm around my waist and drew me close.  “She’s been a real work horse of a typewriter,” he said.

I have a laptop now but, like a faithful magic charm, Little Miss Underwood maintains her place of honor on my desk.

Ellespeth

**Other Stories For This Prompt**

photo prompt © Barbara W. Beacham

15 thoughts on “Places of Honor – Fiction

  1. Love this. I have an old Royal that I use to type letters to my daughter in New Jersey. I usually manage two or three a week. Nothing like it. Billy Collins likened it to a train, the cigarette in his mouth puffing away as he worked.

    Like

    • Thanks,J Hardy. There’s nothing like an old manual typewriter. I have an old manual Adler – found a couple of years ago at a typewriter repair store. I love the old manuals and their carriage returns. Such a feeling of accomplishment to get to the end of each line and hear that bell.

      Lucky daughter that her dad writes her several times a week.

      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

