Old Lace & Bay Windows – Fiction

Time for this week’s Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers.   It takes place each Wednesday.   100-150 words more or less.  I’ll put the link to this week’s stories at the end of this piece.  Drop by to read or write or both 🙂  Thanks to PJ (Priceless Joy) for hosting this challenge.  Here’s the photo and my story (175 words):

bay windowsOld Lace & Bay Windows

Mother always says I’m crazy. Since I know that opinion clearly depends on her definition of crazy, I’ve never paid much mind to her assumptions of me.

About 20 years ago, I moved out west. According to mom’s outlook on life,  everyone out west is probably crazy. That could be why I like it so much here. I’ve never tried to run away from my craziness as much as I’ve tried to tone it down just a tiny bit.

I bought a small town house in the Haight. The previous owner  had flattened the signature bay windows. I’ve hung old lace panels and strung crystals from the curtain rods. All around me glows magic and rainbows.

Mom and I talk on the phone each week.

“When do you think you might be coming out, Mom?” I’m always asking.

“Soon. Maybe. Are you happy, Polly? And you like your place?” Mom sometimes asks.

“I do like it, Mom. It really stands out from the other buildings. You’d just love it,” I always say.

Ellespeth

other stories can be found here: this week’s stories

photo prompt Copyright Vanessa Rodriguez

15 thoughts on “Old Lace & Bay Windows – Fiction

  1. When people tells us we’re different, even our loved one, we should hold our heads up high instead of feeling ashamed. Your story is a reminder of that. To embrace and love ourselves and go after what we want in life. Thanks for sharing this! I’ll hold it in my heart.

    Like

  2. Ellespeth, I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you how pleased I am that you are part of the FFfAW Weekly Challenge writers group. I really enjoy reading your stories and you bring a very special quality to the writing group. I hope you will continue your participation and I look forward to reading your future stories. ((Hugs)) PJ

    Like

  3. An interesting story with excellent dialoge, Ellespeth. There does seem to be an issue with Polly’s mother. Has she really not visited in twenty years, or have I misread that? As Ameena says, there seems so much more to the story …

    Like

    • Yep – seems mother hasn’t made it out yet…probably the best for Polly. I’m glad you thought the dialogue worked – that’s always such a difficult part for me. Thanks for reading my work and for commenting.
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Ameena. Somewhere, in all the flash fiction pieces I’m writing seems to be a thread that might weave some together into longer pieces. I appreciate your comment.
      Ellespeth

      Like

  4. She doesn’t sound crazy to me. I’m wondering if her mother is the crazy one? I really enjoyed reading your story and love the ending, “It really stands out from the other buildings. Youd’ just love it.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

