Table for Two/Monday 5PM – Poetic Fiction

Time for another installment of   Friday Fictioneers  hosted by Rochelle.  100 words or so based on the image below. Click on the froggy link (after this piece) and come join us!

This photo reminded me of a poem I wrote a year or so ago.  Since my interest, now, is expanding my poetry into a story, I thought I’d try that out here again.  It’s sort of another Sissy and Buck romance thing:

Table for Two/Monday 5PM

It was the largest bunch of daisies Sissy had ever seen. It arrived,  at 5PM,  one horrible Monday afternoon.  The card read:

Let’s hop a train for dinner.
We can see where it leads.
If you have a few nights
we could get a cabin
where the sounds of whistles
and tracks rushing by
would take us
places we don’t have to be.

Your poet,
Buck

It’s just like Buck to think I can just disappear for a few days.  Sometimes he doesn’t seem to be in touch with reality,  Sissy thought.

Boarding the train,  she was smiling behind daisies.

(EW 4/10)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(The daisies looked so bright at their table.   This is the original last sentence…doesn’t seem to be working/saying what I mean.)

Ellespeth

photo prompt © Jennifer Pendergast

25 thoughts on “Table for Two/Monday 5PM – Poetic Fiction

  1. I have a notion thinking of the places you don’t have to be when you hear a train whistle is what makes it magic. Probably lots of people would like to take off on a Monday night. Well done, Ellespeth. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

    • I fixed that last sentence because, of course, Sissy is no more in touch with reality than Buck. It wasn’t coming over that way for several readers. Is it working better now?

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Ellespeth

      Like

  2. Buck is quite the romantic, Ellespeth? Is he available? I like Sissy’s reaction though. She wants someone who has his act together, I think. Still, I would take that train ride. I hope she reconsiders. Really nice work and works great for this prompt.

    Like

    • I fixed that last sentence because, of course, Sissy is no more in touch with reality than Buck. It wasn’t coming over that way for several readers. Is it working better now?
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

