Just For Now Somewhere Else – Fiction

Time for this week’s Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers.   It begins anew each Wednesday.   100-150 words more or less to do with   the photo below  (photo changes each week).  I’ll put the link to this week’s stories at the end of this piece.  Drop by to read or write or both 🙂

Thanks to  PJ for hosting this each week.  It’s so much appreciated.

pj'sJust For Now Somewhere Else

Have you ever had a longing just to hop a boat and sail away into another reality?  I know, right?  But listen up all you non-believers and head-shakers.  Once in a lifetime, though maybe not your lifetime,  these sorts of moments do actually happen.

“It’s only a few bags,  honey.   Just put ’em in your car and drive me to the pier,”  I implored.  “I wish you’d come with me.  I have an extra ticket.”

“Dad just died and you’re going cruising the world for a year?”   my son asked.  He eyed me as though I had some suspicious intent.

“That’s right.  Your dad bought these tickets the day before he retired.”  I met my son’s gaze. “He’d expect me to use mine.”

“But Mom…I mean…honestly.”

“Don’t be so much like I’ve always been, Bud.”  I reached out and embraced my son.

“I don’t know, Mom.”

“It doesn’t seem proper, does it?”  I asked.

“I don’t know, Mom.”

“It’s probably not proper  But I’m going cruising today.”

“I know,  Mom.”

“Coming with me?”

Ellespeth

photo thanks to pixabay.com

16 thoughts on “Just For Now Somewhere Else – Fiction

  1. If Mom’s determined to honour her husband’s wishes, she must go. It would be nice if the son went with her, too. Perhaps he will now she’s explained things to him. Good story, Ellespeth, and nicely written.

    Like

  2. I hope he goes with her. Would be a lovely mother and son trip being together and remembering her husband/his dad. Terrific introduction to your story. Really got me thinking. Just a suggestion – in your story ‘Mom’ needs a capital letter as it’s her name.

    Like

    • Oh! Thanks for pointing the ‘Mom’ parts out. That’s been fixed.

      Once I wrote the first paragraph….this is what came of it. I just let my muse have her say this time. Glad it seems to have worked.

      I appreciate your comments.

      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s the way to honor his wishes and find a way to breathe with such loss. It might not seem proper, but such is life. Not to mention we never know how much time we have left. If I were in her position, I’d hope he would come with me (to mourn and live), but I’d respect his reasons if he didn’t. Great piece!

    Like

    • I think it’s a loving way to honor a marriage that seems to have lasted so long and allowed her to be so certain of her husband’s wishes for her. And honestly, from my own personal experience, the proper life can sometimes be quite boring.

      If her son doesn’t go, maybe he will fly to meet her at some port along the way – after he grieves as he sees fit.

      Thanks for reading my work izzy. Your comments are always helpful.

      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is great! She is just tossing all her cares to the wind and doing something she really wants to do for a change, inspite of how it looks to others. I hope her child goes with her. I like these words, “stop being the way I’ve always been.” Excellent Ellespeth!

    Like

    • Yes. My more logical self is right there with you, Charles. Then, there’s this child like part of me saying…the money was already gone and accounted for before he died. He’d want her to fulfill, I’m certain,some lifetime dream they both shared and invested in.

      It’s fiction. Sigh. I haven’t a clue where reality would lead.
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

