Accidentals – A Love Poem & Some Prose

My husband (known as “you” on my blog) and I are retired.  We watch babies and toddlers a few mornings each week.  It’s a good thing, too, because I could just as easily sleep those morning hours away.  This morning was not such a good morning:

You tripped on a toddler’s walker this morning.  All the ladies went running and cooing towards you.  My back was turned from you.  It was such a loud-sounding fall. I  felt paralyzed.  Some of the women were looking at me with sad and alarmed expressions.

The doctor  proclaimed all of your injuries to be superficial, so  I bought you a chocolate eclair.  You love it but… this babysitting stuff is certainly not the early retirement years I envisioned.  Thank gawd it’s just a few mornings a week!

vintage-140573_640

Accidentals

Stop doing that!
Stop preparing me
for when you may not be here
with me.
Stop it!
I’ve decided
just for spite
I’m dying first.
So stop it!

Ellespeth

photo pixabay.com

4 thoughts on “Accidentals – A Love Poem & Some Prose

Leave a Reply

