When Silo Was Born – Fiction

 Time for another installment of   Friday Fictioneers  hosted by Rochelle.  100 words or so based on the image below. Click on the froggy link (after this piece) and come join us!

When Silo Was Born

Everyone waited out in the heat that afternoon. We looked at each other with fear in our eyes. The silo, just outside our town, had blown apart. People talked sparks and metal and I’m in labor just about then.

My daddy was crying as they wheeled me into the delivery room. I kept asking for you. My mother squeezed my hand. She was crying, too.

He came out so beautiful and perfect and screaming his way into this world. I named him Silo. Since we hadn’t chosen a name yet, that one seemed best to me at the time.

Ellespeth

 

prompt -© Marie Gail Stratford

35 thoughts on “When Silo Was Born – Fiction

  1. Vety moving story. I liked the name for the baby. This reminded me of a coal mining disaster where many people died. I was 7 and we went to West Virginia to see if all was okay since my grandfather worked that mine. It wasn’t his shift but my best friend’s dad died. Very sad.

    Like

  2. Sad story, but one with hope. I also thought the baby’s dad died in the accident. Farming has its dangers just like many other jobs. Looks like the baby will be just fine. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

  3. Silo has a good sound to it, and it has a story, too. The kid will have a unique name, too. What a wonderful, bittersweet story. I know about the danger of grain and flur dust… but I didn’t know about silos blowing up… seems logical though.

    Like

  4. Wow, Ellespeth this story is packed full of moving parts. Great storytelling! I have a feeling the baby’s daddy didn’t make it. Perhaps he died in the silo accident. Naming the newborn Silo could be a moving tribute and what an original name!

    Like

    • Yes, I think it is a fine and strong name and that the child will grow into it with time. I grew up on the Mississippi River. This happens often – loading grains, etc. onto the barges. The towns are small and close knit. Something like this is remembered a very long time.

      Like

  5. Great story Ellspeth! Full of so many images! A silo blowing apart, a father crying, a woman in labor, a mother assisting with the labor, a baby being born, and his daddy missing. So much said in so few of words.

    Like

    • I guess these sorts of accidents bring small towns together. Hopefully, he’ll learn to appreciate the name. Thanks for passing by to read my work, Perry.
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

