Lost Causes – Fiction

Time for this week’s Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers.   It begins anew each Wednesday.   100-150 words more or less to do with   the photo below  (photo changes each week).  I’ll put the link to this week’s stories at the end of this piece.  Blogs, like this, are such a great gift for writers – and I believe readers,  too.  Pass on by – click on the froggy at the end of this story.

Very thankful  to PJ for hosting this for us. Your hard work, on our behalf, is so much appreciated.

churchLost Causes

At least once a month,  Mom would march us kids to the parish church to light a prayer candle.  We’d pray for anyone in our neighborhood gossip and hard times deemed worthy.  I guess that set me up for a lifetime of lighting votive candles and praying for lost causes.

I prayed a lot when Peter left me.  I prayed so much my knees were red.  Sometimes they’d bleed,  but not as much as Peter bled.

“Is there anything you want to say on your own behalf?” the judge asked me.

“No,” I replied.

All these years later, I’m still not sorry.  He loved on her in our bed, and then he left me.  That’s enough to drive any woman crazy.

I know it’s hopeless, but sometimes I go to the prison chapel and spend a dime on a votive candle.  I light it and pray for his sorry soul and my crazy heart.

Ellespeth

thanks to ©priceless joy for our photo this week

17 thoughts on “Lost Causes – Fiction

    • I’m so sorry. I am just seeing your comment. I forget I have to approve first comments.

      That line has such an image attached to it, right? Some crazy dream-like image. Thanks for reading this piece and for commenting on my work
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What a tragic story, Ellespeth. Although the woman felt driven to this crime by Peter’s actions, she shows no remorse for killing him afterwards. The votive candle seems to be a token show as she prays for his sorry soul – and her own crazy heart. A well written story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is great! I feel a “detachment” from her and her crime. I can’t help but feel sorry for her since her husband had an affair in their bed. I love how you used the votive candles in the story. Great writing Ellespeth and a great story!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

