After Dark – Fiction

Time for this week’s Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers.   It begins anew each Wednesday.   100-150 words more or less to do with   the photo below  (photo changes each week).  I’ll put the link to this week’s stories at the end of this piece. Pass on by – click on the froggy at the end of this story.

Wow!  It’s hard to believe that this is week 17:)  Thanks  to PJ for hosting this for us each week, and all her hard work on our behalf.

aquarium

After Dark

What was I doing? 50-year-old women don’t just take off and leave everything behind. Family. Friends. Job. Even if they are divorced, 50-year-old women just don’t do that sort of thing. So what was I doing?

We’d met online. You’d told me you were a nuclear physicist. I’d replied you didn’t have to be a rocket scientist to have a conversation with me. I’d told you I was a poet.

The first thing I liked about you – when we finally met in real life – was your screen saver program. An aquarium on your desktop! I’d never seen anything like that before. But then, I was using duct tape to keep my modem inside my laptop.

I must have fallen asleep reading my diary. It fell to the floor,  and you picked it up.

“Don’t even consider reading that,”  I warned.

You handed me the notebook and pointed to your name on the cover. “What do you write about in there?”

I looked at you out the corner of my eye.   “Screen savers.”

Ellespeth

This week’s prompt photo is supplied to us by Sonya O. Thank you Sonya!

12 thoughts on “After Dark – Fiction

    • Hi PJ! I’m glad you enjoyed this one 🙂 At first, it seemed a little disconnected so I’m glad the edits worked and people are enjoying the story.
      We have some really piggy hummingbirds this year sheez – I should put out a table and chairs for them 😛
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds like you might have some Rufous Hummingbirds. They have the orange napes around their necks and really are pretty but they are feisty and hog the feeders! Also they run the other hummingbirds away because they are very territorial. After a few weeks they will move on.

        Like

Leave a Reply

