Organics – Fiction

Time for this week’s Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers.     It begins anew each Wednesday.   100-150 words more or less to do with   the photo below  (photo changes each week).  I’ll put the link to this week’s stories at the end of this piece. Pass on by – click on the froggy at the end of this story.

Thanks  to PJ for hosting this for us each week, and for our photo prompt this week.

I wanted to have a little fun this week so I’ve brought out Sissy and Buck again.  My little love conquers all couple.  I’ll tag it Sissy and Buck and – if you’d like – you might read a few.  That’s not all of them because I wasn’t aware, at the beginning of this series, of the importance of tags.  But, they each stand alone right now.

horses

Organics

“Sissy, now, you’re testing the family’s patience these days,” my brother said

We were lunching at one of the few organic restaurants in New Orleans. Everything was garnished with kale or sprouts or both.

“People are saying that you and Buck plan to rent out the house  to a bunch of artist types.” Hugh looked at me pleading some reasonable answer. “Is this true?” he asked.

I picked a piece of kale from between my teeth. I did it in public. Everyone saw me picking raw kale from between my teeth. “It’s true.”

“A bunch of hippie types living in Mom and Dad’s house?” The idea seemed incredulous to Hugh.

“It’s my house now, Hugh.” I winked at him.

“Oh good lord, Sissy.”

I felt bad for Hugh. I always had. No one ever asked him to take on the role of saving the family’s reputation. He’d taken that upon himself.

“Oh good lord, Huey. Get over it.” I reached to embrace him.

“You’re just nuts ,” Hugh said. He returned my embrace.

Ellespeth

2 thoughts on “Organics – Fiction

Leave a Reply

