Back and Up Ramblings

We’re back and settling in after our escape to the Pescadero/Half Moon Bay area – about an hour from home, but a totally different world.  Everything was even more beautiful than we’d imagined…and more peaceful and quiet save the birds and crickets making beautiful  music.  When we were at the cottage, we remained fairly silent and had lovely quiet time – no music – no sounds other than nature’s.  I’m so glad to know that there is this place so nearby.  I would like to escape there alone – for at least two weeks – to see what I can come away with.

Words won’t describe the trip.  Here are a few photographs David took.ellespeth in half moon bayAn afternoon in Half Moon Bay.

lavender fields in pescadero gardenLavender fields seen from the guest cottage in Pescadero.  That redwood tree looked ancient with it’s sooo wide canopy.

side garden pescaderoSide garden off the guest cottage porch.

bunch roses in pescaderoDavid loved those bunch roses way in the back of the garden – just before the overgrazed hill.

We met the gardener!  He must work other jobs in the area, and would arrive late afternoons to do a bit of taking care.  What a beautiful act of love this is!

*****

Alas, sooner or later, one must (usually) return from a vacation.  And so, here I am.  Here’s what I’m currently reading:

The Constitution of the United States

The Declaration of Independence

The Articles of Confederation

The first chapter to Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman.  (I finished this pre-publication chapter release this afternoon…I can’t wait to read the entire novel.  I hope she’ll write an autobiography.  Maybe she already has it written.  Did you know she grew up living next door to Truman Capote?  Those small Southern towns have given us some great writers!

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft – by Stephen King (I’m really liking this book and will finish it this weekend.)

Savage Beauty – a biography about Edna St. Vincent Millay – by Nancy Milford.  I’ve been reading this one for months now.  It’s a great book but difficult emotionally.   Edna St. Vincent Millay is in my blood.  My mother introduced me to her work when I was in junior high school, and that set me upon the road of Poet.

****

I’d like to write a novel.

I’m going to attempt a 400 word story about the word “merry”.  I may finish that tonight as well.  The actual challenge, itself, can be found here.

So, I’m pretty much all over the place in my life right now.

Ellespeth

9 thoughts on “Back and Up Ramblings

    • That whole area, from SF to Big Sur – and I’m sure the entire coast – is breathtaking. Small towns, local artists and craft stores. It would be nice if a group of us could meet – for a day and a lunch or an overnight – in Half Moon Bay. I’m game if you are – any month except October – can’t get near Half Moon Bay during the Pumpkin Festival 😛
      Ellespeth

      Like

  1. Hi Ellespeth, gorgeous place, I love the red roses garden too. I remember in another post you had a photo of the room, so nice. I’m glad you had a great time, silence is always welcome.

    Like

    • Hi! It was wonderful, Elizabeth…someplace we can return to often.
      We are discussing having more silent time in our lives. It’s important for the mind and soul and body.
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • It was so wonderful, Jessie. There’s a small kitchen, too, so I wouldn’t have to spend money eating out. And I love cooking! Even though we’re retired – except for babysitting a few hours each week – time rushes away from me. I’m going to try one of Stephen King’s suggestions – going into the study and CLOSING THE DOOR. I’ll go back to this cottage, though – alone – to have the experience of truly just me time.
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • Hi PJ!
      Oh! It was so relaxing and peaceful. I’m hoping to go back again, alone, for a couple of weeks.. Maybe I’ll let David visit on the weekends :P.
      I’m trying to decide which challenges I’ll take on this week. There’s such a short time left and I don’t like to submit a piece unless I can read other works, too. I certainly do like the vineyard photograph, though. So many places to go with that one!
      Hope allz well.
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

