Things Classical

classic carsNot only am I reading a lot, but I’ve also decided to spend a week streaming  one classical movie a day.  Not classical earth shattering movies.  I mean those sorts of movies you watched, after school, on Dialing for Dollars.  There was something innocent about that time and I want to capture that again.  There was also something corny about that time.  And sometimes something daring.  Romance movies from the 40’s through mid-60’s.  The stuff dreams were made of.

Tonight I watched Three Coins in the Fountain (intro song sung by Frank Sinatra!) starring  Clifton Webb, Dorothy McGuire, Jean Peters, Louis Jourdan, Rossano Brazzi, and Maggie McNamara.  I am still totally in love with Rossano Brazzi.  This movie has a fairly simple flow:  three young women working in Rome hoping/wishing to get married.  Lovely fountain scenes and dramatic music and even a runaway ancient pick-up truck.  As if 1954 (the year the movie was made) isn’t ancient enough.  Heck!  I was already three.

Maybe, since I’m still so in love with Rossano Brazzi, tomorrow I’ll watch South Pacific.  Oh!  A classic musical!

Something’s bubbling inside me and it asked for some classical movies.  That’s the only explanation I have.

Ellespeth

2 thoughts on “Things Classical

  1. Yes…back in the day..there were some really excellent movies. South Pacific is one of my favorites. I always enjoyed the movies with Audrey Hepburn too. She was such a classy lady and I loved hearing her talk.

    Like

    • There were some great ones – that’s for sure, Jessie. Instead of South Pacific yesterday, in honor of today’s release of ‘Go Set A Watchman’, my husband joined me in watching ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’.

      Oh! Audrey Hepburn was superb! Her son has just published a collection of her cooking recipes and written about his mother’s childhood. So sad.
      Hope all is well!
      Ellespeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

