Lean Choices – Fiction

Here’s a short piece submitted for Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers’ weekly photo prompt.  If you’d like to submit a piece,  click on that link for more info.  Thanks to PJ for hosting this and also for providing our photo prompt this week.

If you’d like to read more stories, click on the froggy icon after this piece.

rain promptLean Choices

When I prayed at night, I used to stick in a request that one of the Beatles would come and ask me to marry.  I didn’t even care which one.  When that didn’t happen, I decided to enter the convent.  I mean, I’d already decided to marry Jesus but,  if one of the Beatles had proposed, I might have changed my mind.

It’s not like I didn’t have any other choices.  I did.  I could have stayed on the Bayou, married, and had six kids.  I could have moved to New Orleans, found a secretarial job, and hung out in the coffee shops with the local artists.  Maybe I could have taken night courses at  Loyola .  (My parents thought I was nuts, and flat-out forbid that choice).  Or, I  could have become a nun.  Regular, run of the mill decision-making processes  teenagers go through during high school.

The afternoon I finally decided, it was raining.  My best friend and I sat at the picture window in her parents’ home.  We were in this together.

Ellespeth

15 thoughts on “Lean Choices – Fiction

    • I’m hoping her decision was not to enter the convent. It was so easy to be swayed before the 60’s. There were even – what I called – “Recruiters for Christ” that would come to the Catholic high schools. Sort of like job fairs today 😛

      I’m working on a much larger piece. This will probably be the opening – but as a conversation. Glad you liked it!

      Ellespeth

      Like

  1. Ellespeth, this sweet story certainly does show the thought process – decision making process of teeenagers and how most of us come to the decision as to what to do with the rest of our lives. I especially loved, “request that one of the Beatles would come and ask me to marry, I didn’t even care which one.” This story is beautiful in its innocent simplicity, and thank you so much for participating in the Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers Challenge. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not that I was ever serious about joining the convent – though I did think I wanted to at one point (long before high school)…but – I used imagine marrying one of the Beatles. Preferably Paul 😛 I’m glad you liked the simplicity of this piece, PJ.

      It’s always an pleasure to be able to participate in your weekly challenge. I’m slowly feeling stronger and hope to return full force in time.

      I hope you had a nice visit with your family last week.

      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yes, I loved Paul too! I’m pretty sure I wanted to marry him too. LOL. There is nothing wrong with wanting to be a nun, I’m sure many young women think about that. I’m glad you are starting to feel stronger because that means you are healing! 🙂 I look forward to reading more of your stories in the future when you feel like writing more stories.

        Like

    • I get confused now myself as to what her final decision actually is. I’m working to expand this piece. I’m researching that time period and young women joining the convent. It’s interesting.

      Thanks for passing by again!

      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

