Ancient Stories – Some Diary/Prose

Grant Grove

Reading the news today.  Forest fires encroaching on ancient Sequoia redwoods southeast of us.  Some of the trees are over 3,000 years old.  Some say these sorts of trees are used to fires.  Some agree but bring up the fact of our 4 year drought.  Fewer contained fires.

I hope and pray the firemen are able to contain this fire before it reaches Grant Grove.    It’s a sacred place.  It whispers ancient stories.

My Louisiana is losing ancient trees too.  The cypress tree covered with moss and sometimes it’s branches white with egrets roosting for the night. These swamps – whispering ancient stories.

My husband rolled his eyes at me when I stood in the middle of our living room and began to dramatically recite a poem by Joyce Kilmer – so close in my heart.  I remember – though I don’t remember what grade I was in – having to memorize and recite this poem in front of the class.  I’ll put it here because trees should be immortalized like this more often.

Trees – by Joyce Kilmer

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.

Call me corny but that – in my opinion – is beautiful.

Pray for Grant Grove and our firemen and the families in the path of this ‘Kings Canyon’ fire.

Ellespeth

3 thoughts on “Ancient Stories – Some Diary/Prose

  1. The loss of ancient forest is always a tragedy. I’m commenting on this some time after you wrote it, Ellespeth, and hope that the fire’s all under control by now. The poem is really beautiful, especially to anyone who loves the trees and forests. I’m not exactly a ‘tree hugger’ but I do adore the things. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

