Ash Wednesday – Fiction

This is my submission for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers this week.  It’s really nice to be back.

Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge and to Sonya for our photograph.  I’ll put the froggie on for you to read other submissions.

tombstoneAsh Wednesday

Daddy had been dead well over a year before I visited the family crypt in the Odd Fellows Cemetery. An urn, with his ashes, was centered within Cousin Lucy’s bones.

“Are you gonna come in with me?” I asked Buck.

“Aww Sissy. Come on now. You know I don’t even visit my own family’s crypt.” Buck was just sorta staring into nothingness.

It was February. Trees and earth barren and brown – waiting for spring. We’d driven up, from Bayou Teche, to spend Mardi Gras week with my family, and were hung over from celebrating.

I didn’t go inside either. I just peered into the death chamber. It was dusty, just like the bible says.

“I’m glad he’s close to Cousin Lucy,” I said. “And that an angel guards them.”

On the ground, just outside the crypt, Buck laid the cheerful daisy bouquet we’d brought. He put his arm round my waist and pulled me closer to him.

“I guess I don’t have to forgive him.”

“You don’t,” Buck replied.

Ellespeth

click here for other submissions:

3 thoughts on “Ash Wednesday – Fiction

  1. Touching story Ellespeth. It leaves it wide open as to what she doesn’t need to forgive him for. I found it interesting that she was able to visit her father’s crypt even though she has bones in her own closet. Great story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

