I’m Pretending To Be Fine – prose to be poem notes

In a week you will be gone a week.  I’m not going.  I still refuse to travel more than 50 well-known miles from home.  I really don’t like it when you insist upon driving 5 hours on some crazy California interstate and then back home again.

Anyone still following me from when you FLEW ON AN AIRPLANE to Copenhagen or camped out in the mountains and all those other awful times you’ve been so courageous?

You’ve delayed your trip for a week because you weren’t feeling well.  That’s turned out to be a good thing.  I don’t think I could have gone through experiencing all of my emotions about Paris without you here with me.

I’ve done a lot of traveling in my lifetime.  Experienced different cultures.  Experienced more rock and country concerts than I can count on 6 hands and never felt threatened.

I’m glad I decided not to have children.  The world wasn’t any better 40 years (or more) ago than it is now.  People were just better at pretending.

Ellespeth

One thought on “I’m Pretending To Be Fine – prose to be poem notes

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts here, Ellespeth. I understand your fears, but also his desire to stick with his plans of traveling. Even as life returns to “normal,” there will be an underlying nagging sense of fear, I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

