Saturday Afternoons At Lou’s – Fiction

Here is my submission for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  75-150 words about where the photo, below, takes you.  Great photograph from Sonya over at Only 100 Words for our photo prompt.

Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge, and for her constant encouragement.  I’m putting the froggy you can click to read other entries…or submit an entry!

show off fffaw

Saturday Afternoons At Lou’s

When I was a kid, the most important day of the week was Saturday. That’s the day Mom would take my sister and I with her to Lou’s Beauty Salon.

Lou was the hair stylist for some of the Playboy Bunnies in our city. My sister and I would drool every time a Bunny walked into the salon. We wanted their never-ending legs and their so platinum blonde hair. We wanted everything about anything that went on at Lou’s.

And then there was that fateful Saturday. We were trying to act grown up. We were reading all the old trashy movie magazines.

I started crying. “I hate Eddie Fisher!” I screamed.

“But you love Eddie Fisher,” replied my sister.

“Look here!” I held up a movie magazine and pointed to a picture of Eddie Fisher with Elizabeth Taylor. ” He left Tammy for Cleopatra!”

Ellespeth

8 thoughts on “Saturday Afternoons At Lou’s – Fiction

      • Haha! Happy Thanksgiving Ellespeth! Just to let you know, I will be sending out a special challenge this Friday in honor and memory of Barbara Beacham, host of the “Monday’s Finish the Story” challenge. She passed away on Nov. 22. Several of the participants wanted a challenge in her honor. I have chosen a lighthouse photo and will be sending out the challenge on Friday. Then I will send the regularly scheduled challenge for FFfAW on Monday night, as usual.

        Like

Leave a Reply

