Chloe Comes Calling – Fiction

Here is my submission for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  This week’s photo prompt is provided by Etol Bagam, author of the blog, Creative Busyness.  Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.

Happy Thanksgiving to y’all.  I hope you enjoy this installment of my favorite fairy, Chloe.

Hahaha!  It would certainly help if I posted my story to the challenge!  So here goes – a day late – and also, click the froggy for more entries.

Chloe Comes Calling

One afternoon, several years after Irene died, I decided to visit the garden where we’d spent so much time together. From the moment Irene was born, and until the day she passed away, I was her bedroom fairy. My name is Chloe.

On this particular afternoon Irene’s grand-niece, Karen, was playing under an old oak tree. Her mother had inherited the family home and worked hard to keep the garden’s beauty blooming through the seasons. I was quietly floating between colorful metal statues of garden art.

Karen knelt down near to where I thought I was so carefully hidden. “Well, hello there!” she whispered.

“You see me?” I asked.

“Yes, I do.”

I floated closer to her. Only people who believe in fairies can see us.

“And I even know who you are,” Karen said.

“You do?”

“Karen, who are you talking to?” her mother asked as she approached us.

“It’s Chloe, Mother!”

We had a lovely tea party. Karen’s mother shared memories of Irene.  The air was scented with mint and laughter.

Ellespeth

13 thoughts on “Chloe Comes Calling – Fiction

Leave a Reply

