Tuesday Night at Dinner – Fiction

Here is my submission for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.  Click the lil froggy for more stories.

This week’s photo prompt is provided by pixabay.com (free to use photos)

forest

Tuesday Night at Dinner

I’d spent an hour out in the woods picking mushrooms to smother down with the evening’s chicken and onions. The supper looked marvelous – all laid out on the table with Wally’s knives. The knives had old cracked ivory handles. The taters were mashed to perfection. I was drinking cheap Spanish champagne. Wally was drinking Two Buck Chuck wine.

“Hazel! Look out there!” Wally exclaimed.

“Look at what, Sweetie Pie?” I asked.

“Who’s gone and decorated our god danged palm trees with lights the color of Mardi Gras?” Wally rushed to the window and pulled back a delicate lace panel. “Look at that Hazel!”

I still don’t know what got into Wally that night. I’d cleaned off the mushrooms.

Ellespeth 😛

13 thoughts on “Tuesday Night at Dinner – Fiction

    • I have a gf who won’t eat a mushroom unless it’s WASHED! Ewww. Wet mushrooms…many years ago, my first husband and I had to go bail our teen aged nephew out for picking mushrooms out in the country – the kind that grows on cow pies! Oh gag.

      Thanks for reading this, PJ. Glad you liked it. I’m headed over to read some stories now,
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

