Forget About The End of the World…

abraham-lincoln-60558_640

I’ve spent a fretful week finishing Lincoln’s Melancholy: How Depression Challenged a President and Fueled His Greatness by Joshua Wolf Shenk (a biography), and have decided this was a good book to read right now – this week.  On many levels, Lincoln lived a life for all times.  His time,  this week …this month…this year…this decade – different times, different levels of hatred taking hold of our country.

There was one part, of Obama’s speech tonight, that I liked and found to be so like the Lincoln Obama looks up to.  I don’t have a television but I’ve so far read a few passages and critiques of his speech.  I liked this sentence:

“Let’s not forget that freedom is more powerful than fear.”
(President Barack Obama)

and, to me, that’s true – truer now than ever before in my lifetime.

Ellespeth

Leave a Reply

