Buck’s Pool Hall – Fiction

Here is my submission for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.  Click the lil froggy for more stories.

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Etol Bagam.  And here is my story:

Buck’s Pool Hall

Everybody in town liked Buck. He was six shades beyond the color gray and a few short steps ahead of reality. On Friday nights, his pool hall was the place to be in town.

“What the heck is the meaning of this?” Sissy hollered. She was pointing at some piece of art Buck had hung on the back wall of his pool hall.

“Nudes,” Buck replied.

“I can see they’re nude,” Sissy said. She’d been dating Buck, off and on, for about 10 years and still didn’t understand the man. “What is this? Some fancy museum or your pool hall?”

“I just wanted to add some class to the place, Sissy.”

“Oh honestly, Buck.”

“Oh honestly Buck, what?”

Sissy shook her head. “Let’s just draw a bull’s-eye on it and call it a dart board, okay?”

Buck looked like all sorts of lights had gone on in his head. He leaned over and kissed Sissy. “Now THAT is a great idea!”

Ellespeth

33 thoughts on “Buck’s Pool Hall – Fiction

    • I’m glad to read you think so on both counts, charlypriest…a most interesting name you have, too. I get all nervous when someone says I have talent…thank you for following my blog and commenting on my works.
      Ellespeth

      Like

      • It was a nice read,I´ll try to drop as often as I can when time permits. You do have talent, and you can believe it. A priest does not lie to their flock. It´s between me you and HIM 😉
        Really, a nice read it was.

        Like

    • Thanks! Those two have grown on me over the last few years. I always like it when I can use them in a writing challenge. I’m trying not to think of what the bulls eye will be and almost took that line out when I thought on it too long…
      Ellespth

      Like

  1. I think they make a nice pair. They seem to compliment each other in their own way. Ha! She will have quite a time keeping him grounded . I like his spontaneity. Enjoyed this, Ellespeth. 😊

    Like

    • Yes, Buck’s not usually attached to the reality of life. Rumor has it that Sissy isn’t either. Glad you liked this story, Graham. That line came right out of thin air and onto the page…so I left it there.
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha! I think that is a great idea – using the nude picture as a dart board! I loved this line:
    “He was six shades beyond the color gray and a few short steps ahead of reality.” Great story Ellespeth!

    Like

Leave a Reply

