Cafe Conversations – Fiction

Here is my submission for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge. She found the photo on Pixabay.

Join the fun!  Click the lil froggy for more stories or to add your own.

blue truckCafe Conversations

“You can’t be serious,” my brother said.

We were at the Cafe Du Monde, having a coffee and sharing an order of beignets. I’d just told him I was going to marry Buck. “Oh but I am serious,” I replied. “It will be a small ceremony at City Hall.”

“Not even a Catholic ceremony, Sissy?” My brother looked at me aghast. He reached into his shirt pocket for one of his healthier light cigarettes and eyed me sternly. “You did say he was an atheist, didn’t you?”

“Yes, and a Republican.”

“Oh my good God, Sissy!”

“Can’t we just pretend those parts don’t matter?” I asked. I was licking powdered sugar from my finger tips. I was just about to say something,  of great importance,  when Buck came by in an old blue pick-up and honked his horn.

I stood up and walked over to my brother and gave him a little peck on his cheek. “I probably should go now,”  I said before I sashayed away.

Ellespeth

32 thoughts on “Cafe Conversations – Fiction

  1. Beignets at Cafe du Monde – how I wish I was there. Such a fabulous place to call home. I ‘ve only been there once but long to return.
    Opposites do attract, as long as there are shared values and respect politics shouldn’t matter.

    Like

  2. An atheiest and a Republican! Oh dear … deadly sins. But don’t they say that ‘love conquers all’? Perhaps that old blue pickup will work its magic and Sissy and Buck will be happy despite their differences. Lovely story, Ellespeth. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maybe those sorts of differences don’t matter – will take respecting each other…doesn’t it seem dreamy to imagine driving off into the sunset in such a beautiful old pickup? Glad you liked this one, Millie.
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • I lived there 50 years. A few blocks from the Cafe du Monde. I’d pass it walking to work. On a bad morning, I’d stop off for some beignets to go…Miss those days. Miss my home.
      I’m fairly certain this particular brother will overlook many differences …
      Thank you so much for commenting on my work.
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sure there are at least a few Republicans who are atheists 😛 I know a few myself…I’m not so sure how progressive Sissy is, though. She’s been born into a certain culture that doesn’t matter to her.
      Ohhhhh!!! we are almost headed into our anniversary post. OMG, PJ! Thank you for hosting us and our madness:)
      Ellespeth

      Like

      • I’m sure you are right Ellespeth! I always think of republicans being more religious type people. Yes, soon it will be the one year anniversary post!! Whoo Hooo!! 🙂 🙂 Thank you so much for participating and for sticking with this challenge.

        Like

Leave a Reply

