Braids – Fiction

I don’t want to bore people not following my blog with why I’ve been away, but here I am!  It’s so, so good to be back again 🙂  Nobody died…just my arm had issues 😛

Here is my submission for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.  please follow little foggy for more stories

 

braids

Braids

That morning, Nellie braided her hair and put on a black dress.  Since Saul died, this had become a routine.

They hadn’t been perfect together, but she’d loved Saul with every breath she’d taken since the day they’d met.  She’d trusted him.  Two of her most difficult paths in life.

That morning, before she left for her  walk, Nellie did something differently.  Inside her leather satchel, she put a small cypress box she’d designed.  Onto it, Nellie had carved nonsensical hieroglyphs of feelings.

She slung the satchel over her shoulder and headed out the door and up the stairs and through the archway leading to the lake.

Nellie listened to the seagulls screeching and to the waves pounding against the seawall.  She reached into her satchel, took out the cypress box, and opened it into the breeze.

“Go now, my sweetness,” she whispered.   “Until we meet again.   Amen.”

Ellespeth

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Louise with The Storyteller’s Abode.

14 thoughts on “Braids – Fiction

    • Thank you, Jessie. I wasn’t quite sure about this one. I liked it but wasn’t sure how it came across.
      When one spends years living with and loving another person, it must be so difficult- when they die – to let them go.
      But…that is the future for half the married people on this earth …finding a way to say goodbye.

      I’m hoping to be back here full swing over coffee tomorrow:) Miss you!
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

    • That’s some compliment, PJ! Sad and sweet and the road some of us travel. Seems sort of morbid but sometimes I do think about the future and how it changes people’s live. One can’t escape the leaving and/or the being left 😦
      I’ll be back online tomorrow! Yay!
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

    • I really like that writers can just go where ever these photo prompts take us and that we can visit fears and explore possible outcomes. Writing is therapeutic for me and for so many others.
      Thanks for reading this piece and for commenting. I’m hoping to be back and reading again tomrorrow! Yay!
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’ve missed this flash fiction challenge and the people I’ve met here! I’ll be back full swing come morning.
      I’m glad you enjoyed this piece. I wasn’t sure about it and if it showed an acceptance and a moving forward.
      Ellespeth

      Like

    • {{{Belinda}}} I miss you. Glad you liked this piece. Before all this arm stuff started I was going to listen to you read one of your poems. Now I can’t find that entry 😦 Can you give me the link? I’m hoping to pass by some blogs tomorrow and really would like to hear you.
      Ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

