Dawgy Breaths – Fiction

Here is my offering for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.  please follow little foggy for more stories.

You know, this photograph made me cry.  I remembered dogs I’ve owned in the past and how loyal they were.  And that soldier, receiving solace…

soldier dog

Dawygy Breaths

Sometimes I get scared. I start thinking I’m not going to make it through this or that high-tech meeting. Maybe I’m not going to raise enough funds to keep the company running.  Maybe, even, I’m not enough.

Then I remember Labby Dawg running to lick each of us after each mission. Sometimes we lost, but Labby Dawg always made us feel like heroes. I remember how Labby smelled and the softness of her tongue against my cheek and how it feels to be alive.

Ellespeth

9 thoughts on “Dawgy Breaths – Fiction

Leave a Reply

