Time again for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  Thanks to PJ for hosting this weekly challenge.  please follow little froggy for more stories.

Here is the photo and my story:

My Graduates

It was June. Our youngest child was graduating from high school that afternoon.

My husband, Max, walked through the back door at around lunch time. “So that’s that,” he said.

“And you have Sonia’s corsage?” I asked. Sonia. Our young son’s prom date.

“What?” Max asked.

I walked over to him with an embrace. “Let’s start this over,” I said. “So what’s what?”

“I was laid off today,” Max said. He nuzzled against my neck and I pressed close to him.

You can hope and wish for something. But we knew this was coming. Max was 60 years old. Lots of younger people stepping up to beg his shoes.

“Both my favorite men graduating,” I whispered. My lips teased his. I think he sorta smiled.

When we sent our youngest off to college we rented a U-Haul, painted with dinosaurs, and moved to Florida.

Ellespeth

 

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Yinglan

My Graduates – Flash Fiction

8 thoughts on “My Graduates – Flash Fiction

  1. This is so sweet! “Both my favorite men are graduating.” I like that term for retirement. “Graduated to retirement.” Wonderful story, Ellespeth! I am glad you could post your story but if there was anyway I could have helped you I certainly would have. I know you are having problems with your arm.

    Like

    • This is a discussion my husband and i have a few times a year: now that we are retired, where to go…if not here? i would love south, near to home and siblings but his kids live here. so we stay here. i want him near his kids and he can’t see otherwise so…on this we agree 😛
      ellespeth

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

