That Slow Read – Journal Entry

You went hiking today and my day didn’t turn out as laid back as I’d planned but…I’m continuing with my reading of Fingersmith.

It’s the sort of book I have to stop and think about sometimes. I’m a little slow around the edges.  And I scare very easily.  It’s more suspenseful than scary, actually, but…I don’t deal well with the unknown, either.

I say, to you, this sort of reminds me of Lady Chatterley’s Lover by DH Lawrence – very suspenseful and heart throbbing. It has more twists and dark areas to it, though.  We discuss DH Lawrence and Henry Miller.  I decide, when the right time comes, to do a flash fiction Erotica piece.  And so,  of course,  I must do it!

I remember, almost everyone I knew, in high school (1960’s), wanted to read Lady Chatterley’s Lover. I read a page or two of it.   It was boring. In my 50’s, I saw some movie of it. Now I can’t read Lady Chatterley’s Lover. I have those movie images. I like to read a book before I see a movie. I like to make my own images.

So here I go again…the plot is thickening. Oh my gosh! It’s very suspenseful.  We have both agreed to do nothing tomorrow.  I plan to read.   If I get too scared, you’ll be home 

Ellespeth

2 thoughts on “That Slow Read – Journal Entry

  1. I also like to read the book before seeing the movie. It’s enjoyable to visualize your own characters and the books are always filled with more detail. A lot of times the movie is disappointing after having read the book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

